I lost my voice two weeks ago. My songs were drowned out by lung wracking, gasping coughs. At first I was frustrated. How could a one day cold leave such an after effect? I just wanted to sing! Was that too much to ask?

It turns out God had a good reason for removing my voice, and I now count it as a blessing in disguise. However, when my voice returned, I no longer felt like singing. My heart just wasn’t in it. Between old memories rehashed and fresh ones nagging anew, my heart had grown sore.

I rebuked myself for this—angry that I still couldn’t push past the pain and picture the purpose. Strong Christians are supposed to just believe, right? They’re supposed to praise God in the storm! But in that moment of crying out to God, all I heard was, “Only trust.”

So often we get caught by this vision of what a perfect Christian looks like. They’re someone who always stands strong, who proclaims light in the darkness and praises in the suffering. I think Solomon understood a different side of this though. He said there is a time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance. ~ Ecclesiastes 3:4 NKJV

Yes, there are times when we’re called to sing out in the struggles. At the same time though, I don’t believe God stood over my hurt with judgment. I can’t believe He was ashamed of me when Jesus Himself suffered similar pain and cried out for the Father. God knows the very depth of my heart better than I do. When no one else can understand, He does! He sees the pain and whispers, “I know it hurts. Only trust.”

Only Trust

When my heart is sore
And living a chore
Maybe I don’t have to roar

When my prayers fall short
God only asks me to dock at His port

When there’s pain
And irrational shame
Maybe I don’t have to proclaim

When my heart is thrust
God only asks me to trust

When life feels left to chance
And passes in a glance
Maybe I don’t have to dance

When empty hands are all I bring
God only asks me to cling

Maybe I don’t have to be perfect
In a world already wrecked

Maybe I simply need to trust
When nothing is just

Maybe it’s about standing tall
When it’s easier to fall

Because here’s the truth straight
God loves me at any rate

He doesn’t ask me to be brave
Only to remember what He gave

I don’t need to be fit for a throne
God only tells me I’m never alone

When I stand at cliff’s brink
And I’m trying not to sink
Maybe I don’t have to over think

When my heart is swelled
God only asks me to be held

When my soul is lonely
And trials repeat like a story
God only says, “It’s for my glory.”

When my faith is tested
God only vows He can’t be bested

When my heart still stings
And I can no longer sing
God only asks to remain my King

When my world goes bust
God whispers, “Only trust.”

All is Grace, Esther Noe

Only Trust Quote

Leave a comment