Inspired by the song Counting Every Blessing by Rend Collective

Counting Every Blessing

I was blind, now I’m seeing in color
I was dead, now I’m living forever
I had failed, but you were my redeemer
I’ve been blessed beyond all measure

In some of my darkest moments, the thing that helped me most was to stop and count my blessings. Some days it was just that the sun was shining. Other days, I’d thank God for almost everything I saw during my walk. Choosing to find joy in trials changed my life. The world that was once stormy and gray was suddenly filled with color. When I started this journey of thankfulness, it was the beginning of spring. All that was once dead was coming to life, including a part of my heart.

I was lost, now I’m found by the father
I’ve been changed from a ruin to treasure
I’ve been given a hope and a future
I’ve been blessed beyond all measure

At this point of time, my little sister had been sick for two years. For months we had said, “Surely she’ll be better by the end of the month,” but she wasn’t. When I felt lost in that struggle, God came and found me. He showed me all His little miracles around me, even though the big one I’d been praying for was yet to come. In the midst of the ruins, God helped me find the treasure. Once again I could hope in the future, trusting Him with the outcome. I knew I’d already been blessed beyond all measure.

I am counting every blessing, counting every blessing
Letting go and trusting when I cannot see
I am counting every blessing, counting every blessing
Surely every season you are good to me

Oh, you are good to me
Oh, you are good to me

So I will count every blessing, no matter how small. I’ll praise God for sunshine in the morning and the moon at night. I’ll praise God for catching me, though I often wish I’d never fell. In the midst of the chaos, I’ll let go of my meager control and trust the one who holds the world. How can I doubt His goodness in the face of all His blessings? How can I question His plan in light of His design? Surely in every season God is good to me! He’s good to you! Oh, God is so, so good to us!

You were there in the valley of shadows
You were there in the depth of my sorrows
You’re my strength, my hope for tomorrow
I’ve been blessed beyond all measure

 Psalms 23:4 says, Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; For You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.  (NKJV, emphasis mine) Notice the word in bold here. Not death itself but only the shadow. God conquered death through Jesus’ death on the cross so we would not have to experience the full brunt of it. Even though the shadow remains, God leads us through every step of the way, carrying us when needed. He’s beside us in the hardship, He’s our strength for each hour, and our hope for tomorrow. We are blessed beyond all measure!

 Surely your goodness pursues me
Surely your heart is still for me
I will remember your mercies all my days
Through every storm and gale

I cannot emphasize this enough: GOD IS SO GOOD!! When we feel lost, abandoned, or unwanted, He pursues us with love, goodness, and grace. The world may turn against us, but God is still for us. Don’t let the lies block out this truth. Search for His miracles in the little things of life. Remember all God has done for you. My list is longer than I can write here. Through every storm and gale, the Lord my God was a sure sail. I am blessed beyond all measure!

Will you sing this last part with me? It doesn’t have to be in tune. Just a whisper will do. Say the words with me. Believe them in your heart. Behold the Lord is good; His mercy endures forever.

For your goodness, I will ever praise you
Oh, you are good to me
Oh, you are good to me
Sing it out now

Oh, you are good to me
In my hurting
Oh, you are good to me
I’ll sing it loud

Oh, you are good to me
Even in the dark
Oh, you are good to me
Lift your voices

Oh, you are good to me
All the time
Oh, you are good to me

All is Grace, Esther Noe

Counting Every Blessing Quote

Disclaimer: I own no rights to this song. These are simply my reflections on it. All credit goes to Rend Collective and their producers. All lyrics were found on google.com.

Leave a comment